Gruyères Castle (Switzerland)
Canton of Fribourg See list of castles in Svizzera
The castle, built in the 13th century, has been home to a long line of Gruyères accounts. Michel, the last of which, in financial difficulties went bankrupt in 1554. The creditors - the city of Fribourg and Berne - shared his land between them. The castle became the seat of the bailiff Freiburg (1555-1798), later the residence of the prefect until 1848. It 'went on sale in 1849 and became the property of the Body and Balland families, who stayed there in the summer and took care of restoration of the site with their artist friends. In 1938, the State of Fribourg bought the Castle and opened a museum.
Discover permanent exhibitions of the castle serving as a reminder of its history, as well as several temporary exhibitions.